Lainey Wilson – Bell Bottom Country

Lainey Wilson - Bell Bottom Country



4.2/5 Pros

  • Country album with elements of other genres
  • Signature Lainey Wilson sound
  • Nice range of songs Cons

  • Some weaker parts

After her February 2021 album Sayin’ What I’m Thinkin’, Bell Bottom Country is a the second Lainey Wilson album I am reviewing with Lainey released it on 28th October 2022. Here are my thoughts.


Lainey Wilson – About The Artist

Lainey Wilson was born on 19th May 1992 in Baskin, Lousiana. The female country music artist is an active artist since 2011. She however self-released an EP; Country Girls Rule, in 2006 already. There is more bio information in my Sayin’ What I’m Thinkin’ review. The album made it to the Top 40 of the US Country Charts. However, the album contained Things a Man Ougtha Know. The single release topped the US Country Airplay Charts.


Lainey Wilson – Bell Bottom Country – Track by Track

The fourteen track album lasts 49 minutes.

1. Hillbilly Hippie

The album opens with a treat for Lainey Wilson fans. The Hillbilly Hippie offers modern country sounds with a nice touch of darker rock sounds. Cool sound.

2. Road Runner

Especially the beginning of the Road Runner feels a bit more sterling than the opener – but the song gains more and more the ease of a pop song. The interlude even comes with a touch of ska, before Lainey is running again at higher country rock speed. really good song.

3. Watermelon Moonshine

The slower Watermelon Moonshine was one of the tracks released before the publication of the album. I love it when Lainey is rocking – but you just cannot say that her more emotional moments would lack any level of quality as well. Nice.

4. Grease

Grease is a very modern and versatile song. The work on the bass and electronic sounds lead to a funk feeling. However, there are pop and rock elements in this song as well. To me this one is one of the highlight listens of Bell Bottom Country.

5. Weak-End

The song about when a weekend turns into a weak-end just because things you do on a weekend is another great listen. The song is rather slow and melancholic, the present drumming adds perfectly to this mood.

6. Me, You, and Jesus

These 3:41 minutes are simply a beautiful song. A very emotional and intimate moment of Lainey Wilson’s 2022 album – even though as an atheist I typically don’t go for these kinds of threesomes.

7. Hold My Halo

The signature of Hold My Halo reminds me of the opener. The song is a staight, powerful production with rock vibes, but also excellent work on the bass side.

8. Heart Like A Truck

Another single release, another rather gentle song. Lainey is coming with a bit of a pop influence in here. The orchestra arrangement is a bit too much for me.

9. Atta Girl

Yeah, the song is one of the most mainstream compositions of Bell Bottom Country, but I simply love it. A nice, not too ordinary melody turn into a really nice listen.

10. This One’s Gonna Cost Me

This One’s Gonna Cost Me is about the complete opposite to Atta Girl. Lainey Wilson rocks, the guitars are howling. Just a lot of power from the tenth song of the album.

11. Those Boots (Deddy’s Song)

The eleventh track has a rather traditional style. Nonetheless, it comes with a nice vibe. Apart from that, there is a nice focus on Lainey’s voice, which are overall some really nice argues for a listen.

12. Live Off

Live Off has been the last single release before the album. The song is a rather brave one with a nice vibe. Nonetheless, I feel that this treasure chest comes with brighter diamonds than this track.

13. Wildflowers And Wild Horses

The second last song does a bit more of a darker, but also traditional sound. However, the second half of Wildflowers and Wild Horses also has a couple of more rhythmic and vigorous parts.

14. What’s Up (What’s Going On)

It might take a few notes to recognize that you in fact know this closing track. Lainey Wilson covers the 4 Non-Blondes and thus gives her fans a 3:51 minute highlight right at the end of her 2022 album. Thank you for this one.


Lainey Wilson – Bell Bottom Country – Spotify

Here is Bell Bottom Country on Spotify:

Lainey Wilson – Bell Bottom Country – My View

Bell Bottom Country is a very versatile album, which again and again uses elements of other genres. There are some slightly weaker parts, but overall, this album is definitely a treat.


Media Review (2022 Women Country)

Here are all my Media Reviews of 2022, which are related to female country artists:


With Gallery (2022)

Here are all my postings with a major size picture gallery, which I published in 2022:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *